Safeguard
Product•

Safeguard on your phone: iOS and Android compared

How the Safeguard iOS app 2.0 and the Android app differ on the download page: stores, versions, the APK, updates, and what Android pages leave out.

Safeguard Security Team
3 min read

Safeguard is on both phone platforms. The iOS app 2.0 is on the App Store for iPhone and iPad, and the Android app is on Google Play for phones and tablets, with a direct APK 1.0.2 as well. The iOS listing is detailed, while the Android feature set is not described on the pages we could read.

Side by side

iOSAndroid
StoreApp StoreGoogle Play
DevicesiPhone and iPadPhones and tablets
Version on download page2.0APK 1.0.2
Direct fileNoYes, 69 MB APK
Minimum OSiOS and iPadOS 16.4Not stated in our sources
UpdatesThrough the App StorePlay, or Safeguard site for the APK
AccountSafeguard account requiredNot stated in our sources

Where iOS is better documented

The App Store listing describes the app as a companion: organization posture, findings with reachability evidence and tracking of fixes made by Griffin AI. It lists requirements, size (72.4 MB) and a privacy statement. The 2.0.3 notes add widgets, Live Activities, QR code device approval, a Safari extension and Siri support, which a workspace administrator must enable.

What does Android offer?

We could read the download page only. It gives the Play listing for phones and tablets, and the APK for phones without Play or for company distribution, with a note that you must allow installs from your browser and that APK updates come from the Safeguard site. It advises checking the SHA-256 checksum before installing. It does not list Android features, so we do not assume parity with iOS.

Which has more risk to manage?

Neither store route is risky in itself. The Android APK adds a manual step. Sideloading shifts the checks to you: source, checksum, narrow install permission and your own update tracking. The safety post in this series walks through it.

Which should a mixed team use?

Use the store version on both, and the APK only where Play is not available. Record the version each person has, since only the store route updates automatically.

What about Safari?

The Safari extension is an iOS and Mac feature, delivered inside the iOS app. There is no equivalent claim for Android in our sources.

How should a buyer read this?

A gap in the sources is not a gap in the product, only in what we could confirm. Before you tell a mixed team they have the same app on both phones, get the Android feature list in writing and test one task on each platform.

What to do

  1. Use the store links from the download page.
  2. Ask Safeguard for the Android feature list before rollout.
  3. Use the APK only when needed, with the checksum.
  4. Keep both apps updated and track versions.

Quick check

Is the Android app the same as the iOS app?

We cannot say. The pages we read describe iOS features in detail but not Android ones.

Is there an iOS direct download like the APK?

The download page lists only the App Store for iOS.

Sources

Last reviewed: 18 October 2026.

Never miss an update

Weekly insights on software supply chain security, delivered to your inbox.

Self-healing security runs on Safeguard.

Your first fix PR is minutes away.

No sales call required, even your agent can complete the purchase over MCP.