Credit programs can cover a large share of an early AI bill, but the terms matter more than the headline number. I read each program page on 18 October 2026. Programs open and close, so treat this as a dated snapshot and confirm on the vendor page before you plan around it.
Startups
Claude Startups (Anthropic). The page describes it as "our program for early-stage founders building on Claude." It says members can access "discounts and credits worth up to $45,000 from companies building with Claude." VC-backed startups in Anthropic's partner network "may be eligible to receive up to $100K in additional API credits, claimed through your VC." Credits apply to the first-party Claude API through Claude Console, not to AWS, Google Cloud, Azure or other platforms. On the day I read it, the page said "our current cohort is now full, and we're not accepting new applications right now." Specific eligibility rules, credit amounts for standard members and expiry were not stated.
AWS Activate. The page lists three tiers:
| Tier | Published amount | Who it is for |
|---|---|---|
| Activate Founders | Up to $5,000, starting at $1,000 | Self funded startups |
| Activate Portfolio | Up to $200,000 | Pre Series B, with an Org ID from an Activate Provider such as an accelerator or VC |
| AWS Credits for AI Startups | $200,000 and above | Invite only, after Activate Portfolio |
Eligibility reads "Pre-series B, founded in the last 10 years, AWS Account on Paid Tier Plan." The page says credits can cover AI tools and gives Amazon Bedrock as an example, but it states no Bedrock specific amount or terms. It also says to expect a reply in 5 to 10 business days.
Google and OpenAI. I could not read the Google for Startups Cloud Program credit tiers or OpenAI's startup credit page on the day, because the fetches returned truncated content or an access error. So this post gives no amounts for either. Check them directly.
Students
Anthropic campus programs. The campus page lists programs for undergraduates, master's students, and PhD students and postdocs. Each lists a "USD3,600 cash stipend" described as "subject to program terms." API credits are not granted to participants directly. The page said applications ran 1 to 12 September and "the program is closed for Fall 2026."
Google AI Plus for students. The student page I read (the India version) offers Google AI Plus free for one year to college students aged 18 or older, redeemable by 31 December 2026, with student status confirmed yearly. After the free year it costs 399 rupees a month, charged automatically unless cancelled. Which countries qualify was not stated on that page, so check yours.
Mistral education. The pricing page lists an Education plan at $14.99 a month for verified students, while its FAQ says students get Pro for $5.99 a month. The page does not reconcile the two figures, so confirm at checkout.
What to check before you rely on any credit
- Which products the credits cover: API only, a specific cloud, or a chat plan.
- Expiry date, and whether unused credits roll over.
- Whether credits can be used for the model you need.
- What happens when credits end, and whether billing starts automatically.
- Data terms: promotional accounts may sit under different terms than paid ones.
Quick check
Can Claude Startups credits be spent on AWS or Google Cloud?
No. Anthropic's page says they apply to the first-party Claude API through Claude Console and cannot be used on AWS, Google Cloud, Azure or other third party platforms.